Announcing The 2017 James Beard Award Winners

2017 James Beard Award Winners

As anybody in the industry knows, even being nominated for a James Beard Award is an incredible honor. Yesterday, the culinary industries top chefs and leaders got together for the James Beard Foundation Restaurant Chef Awards. The award ceremony was held at the Lyric Opera of Chicago, where this year’s winners were announced.

Check out the full list of the 2017 James Beard Award Winners here and congratulations to all!

Best New Restaurant: Le Coucou, NYC

Outstanding Baker: Mark Furstenberg, Bread Furst, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Bar Program: Arnaud’s French 75 Bar, New Orleans

Hotelex/UBM January 2019 728×90

Outstanding Chef: Michael Solomonov, Zahav, Philadelphia

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Ghaya Oliveira, Daniel, NYC

Outstanding Restaurant: Topolobampo, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurateur: Stephen Starr, Starr Restaurants (Le Coucou, Serpico, Upland, and others), Philadelphia

Outstanding Service: Blue Hill at Stone Barns, Pocantico Hills, NY

Outstanding Wine Program: Canlis, Seattle

Outstanding Wine, Spirits, or Beer Professional: Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE

Rising Star Chef of the Year: Zachary Engel, Shaya, New Orleans

Best Chef: Great Lakes: Sarah Grueneberg, Monteverde, Chicago

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic: Greg Vernick, Vernick Food & Drink, Philadelphia

Best Chef: Midwest: Kevin Nashan, Sidney Street Cafe, St. Louis

Best Chef: New York City: Marco Canora, Hearth

Best Chef: Northeast: Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley, Eventide Oyster Co., Portland, ME

Best Chef: Northwest: Greg Denton and Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton, Ox Portland, OR

Best Chef: South: Rebecca Wilcomb, Herbsaint, New Orleans

Best Chef: Southeast: Steven Satterfield, Miller Union, Atlanta

Best Chef: Southwest: Hugo Ortega, Hugo’s, Houston

Best Chef: West: Corey Lee, Benu, San Francisco

Restaurant Design Awards: 75 Seats and Under
Firm: AvroKO
Designers: Kristina O’Neal, William Harris, Adam Farmerie, Greg Bradshaw
Project: SingleThread, Healdsburg, California

Restaurant Design Awards: 76 Seats and Over Firm: Meyer DavisDesigners: Will Meyer, Gray Davis, Katie McPhersonProject: St. Cecilia, Atlanta

2017 James Beard Foundation America’s Classics

Bertha’s Kitchen, North Charleston, SC
Owners: Julia Grant, Linda Pinckney and Sharon Coakley

Gioia’s Deli, St. Louis
Owner: Alex Donley

La Taqueria, San Francisco
Owner: Miguel Jara

Sahadi’s, Brooklyn, NY
Owners: Christine Sahadi Whelan, and Ron Sahadi

Schultz’s Crab House, Essex, MD
Owners: Chrissy Burkman, Stephanie Kell, Jason McKinney, Michelle McKinney, Robert A. McKinney Jr., and Stephen McKinney

2017 James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year
Denise Cerreta,One World Everybody Eats, Salt Lake City

2017 James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award
Nora Pouillon, Restaurant Nora, Washington, D.C.

To learn more about the 2017 James Beard Award Winners, visit their website.