NYC Hospitality Alliance 2nd Annual Awards Slated For TAO Downtown

2017 New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards

UPDATE: See all of the 2017 winners here.

Next week, the New York City Hospitality Alliance, a membership-based association founded in 2012 that aims to foster the growth and vitality of the hospitality industry, will host its 2nd annual awards ceremony at TAO Downtown in New York City.

“It’s incredible to see the growth of this event in just one year,” said Paul Seres, the Chair of the New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards Committee. “We are so excited to be hosting the 2017 awards at TAO Downtown. It’s really special that we are able to bring the industry together for a night to honor the amazing accomplishments we’ve seen over the past year.”

The 2017 New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards will take place on Monday, May 8th from 6:30PM to 10:00PM. The event will showcase the cuisine, cocktails and culture that help define New York City, and honor the restaurants, bars, nightlife establishments, and professionals throughout the five boroughs that have made an impact on the city’s booming hospitality industry.

This year, three new award categories have been added to the roster: ‘Back Of House Award,’ ‘Front Of House Award,’ and ‘Operations Award.’

“Last year’s inaugural event was a huge success,” said Andrew Rigie, the Executive Director of the New York City Hospitality Alliance. “In hospitality, we always make it about the guest but it’s important to us that we give the people that are behind the scenes the recognition and gratitude they so much deserve. This event truly celebrates the individuals and businesses that make up our passionate, diverse and ever-evolving industry.”

Members of the “Nomination Committee,” appointed by Rigie, represent a wide-range of hospitality professionals with a wealth of knowledge and experience in New York City’s hospitality industry. Final nominees under each awards category are selected through the following process: hospitality industry professionals submit nominees for consideration; the Nomination Committee reviews and votes for candidates in each award category; and, finally, the top three vote getters are officially nominated.

Host Milano January 2019 728×90

Award winners are determined by the majority vote of Nomination Committee members after an additional review and deliberation process.

Award categories and nominees include:

Philanthropy Served Here Award – Goes to a charitable organization whose work helps to make the neighborhoods of NYC a more hospitable place- with a focus on working with the restaurant and hospitality industry.

Award Winner: City Harvest

The Next Generation Award presented by TouchBistro – Goes to an up-and-coming or established mover and shaker who is still early in their hospitality industry career: August Cardona (Epicurean Group); Michael Stillman (Quality Branded); Brice Jones (Freehold Brooklyn)

The Determination Award – Goes to an individual who started at an entry-level job in the hospitality industry and is now in a leadership role: Brandon Fay; Carlos Iazo; Pierre Sue

Hearts of Hospitality Award presented by Fox Rothschild LLP – Goes to an individual who is recognized for excellence in the profession of human resources in hospitality: Jackie McMann-Oliveri (Bold Food); Kelly Perkins (NoHo Hospitality); Maren Calloway (Quality Branded)

I Love Boroughs – Goes to a favorite restaurant in each borough as chosen by hospitality industry professionals

I Love Brooklyn Award – Junior’s on Flatbush; Lilia; Roberta’s

I Love Bronx Award – Dominick’s; Zero Otto Nove; The Original Crab Shanty

I Love Manhattan Award presented by Imperial Bag & Paper – Gotham Bar & Grill; The Nomad; Rao’s

I Love Queens Award – Bohemian Beer Hall & Garden; Mu Ramen; Trattoria l’incontro

I Love Staten Island – Bocelli; Enoteca Maria; Mario’s

True Taste of NYC Award – Goes to an iconic dish served at an iconic NYC restaurant: Katz’s Delicatessen (Pastrami Sandwich); Nobu (Miso Black Cod), Sylvia’s (Fried Chicken)

City That Never Sleeps Award – Goes to the important and/or influential club and/or operator: House of Yes; La Marina; The Box

Raising The Bar Award – Goes to the important and/or influential bar and/or owner: Jimmy’s 43; Pegu Club; The Dead Rabbit

Back Of House Award – Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more jobs in a restaurant kitchen: April Bloomfield; Bill Telepan; Missy Robbins

Front Of House Award – Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more jobs on the dining room floor of a restaurant: Chrissa Yee (Loring Place); Danny Collins (Smith & Wollensky); Katie Bell (Agern)

Operations Award – Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more operation level jobs for a single unit or restaurant group: Bill Bonbrest (TAO Group); Jennifer Kay (NYC Best Bars); Sam Goldfinger (The ONE Group)

#HospitalityGuruAward – Goes to the restaurant (or chef/restaurateur) with the best food Social Media presence – makes you drool, laugh and captures your attention: Barbuto; By Chloe; Sugar Factory

Hospitality Technology Award – Goes to a technology platform enhancing the way the hospitality industry operates: SendaGuy Now; SevenRooms; xtraChef

Event Sponsors:

Presenting Sponsor – United Airlines

Four Star – E.B. Chohen, Fox Rothschild LLP; Imperial Bag & Paper; TouchBistro; Valiant Solutions

Three Star – BankUnited; BHB Pest Elimination; El Media, CohnReznick; Four Roses Bourbon; Manhattan Beer Distributors; Micros Retail Systems, Inc.; Palm Bay International Wine & Spirits, SevenRooms;  SendaGuy Now; Tito’s Handmade Vodka; Howard Goldstein, LUTCF for Hospitality Health Select

The 2017 New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards presented by United Airlines will take place on Monday, May 8th from 6:30PM to 10:00PM at TAO Downtown, located at 92 9th Avenue in New York City. General Admission tickets are exclusive to restaurant/nightlife/hotel operators and their families ($250/pp); Industry Package includes 10 tickets and a digital advertisement on-site at the event ($2,500). Dress is cocktail attire. This is a standing room only event with some seating/lounges available for general admission ticket holders. Passed hors d’oeuvres and craft cocktails will be served.

To purchase tickets, or for more information about the 2017 New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards, please visit here