Harlem is Happening! Uptown’s Culinary Evolution


Harlem has emerged as one of the city’s trending dining scenes in recent years with restaurant openings from star chefs like Marcus Samuelsson, Alexander Smalls and Joseph “JJ” Johnson. Uptown has transformed into a foodie destination for New Yorkers and world travelers alike. Frederick Douglass Boulevard, perfectly positioned right around the corner from the world famous Apollo Theater, is now known as Harlem’s Restaurant Row.

The neighborhood is rapidly gentrifying and as a result the income per capita is increasing exponentially. The Harlem condo boom fueled a rush of restaurants as entrepreneurs jumped in to serve a growing residential population. In addition, Harlem draws more than 5 million tourists annually.

There are two market indicators that have joined the Harlem landscape and act as the anchors for the renaissance; Starbucks and Whole Foods. Starbucks on 125th Street is one of the largest in NYC and when Whole Foods opens on the corner of 125th and Lenox Avenue by the end of the year, the statistics speak volumes: rents and property values in the immediate area of a Whole Foods dramatically increase. This has been proven in areas all around NYC and in major cities across the country.

Let’s take a tour of some of the new restaurants and bars that have opened in Harlem over the past few years. This impressive list includes a wide range of cuisines, from bistros to gastropubs to hyper-hip wine and cocktail bars. Check it out… Happy Dining!

Cecil – http://thececilharlem.com

Benefit Mall Aug 2016 Top Banner

Red Rooster – http://redroosterharlem.com
Streetbird – http://streetbirdnyc.com
Friedman’s – http://friedmansrestaurant.com
Maxwells – http://maxwellscentralpark.com
Vinateria – http://vinaterianyc.com
Row House – http://rowhouseharlem.com
Chocolat – http://chocolatharlem.com
Harlem Tavern – http://harlemtavern.com
The 5 and Diamond –  http://5anddiamondrestaurant.com
Blujeen – http://blujeennyc.com
Harlem Food Bar – http://hfbnyc.com
Corner Social – http://cornersocialnyc.com
BLVD Bistro – http://boulevardbistrony.com
Sexy Taco Dirty Cash – http://sexytacodirtycash.com

Mountain Bird – http://mountainbirdnyc.com

Ponty Bistro – http://pontybistroharlem.com
Chez Lucienne – http://chezlucienne.com
Lenox Saphire – http://lenoxsaphire.com
Barawine – http://barawine.com
Cheri – http://cheriharlem.com
Maison Harlem – http://maisonharlem.com

Serafina – http://harlem.serafinarestaurant.com
Lido – http://lidoharlem.com
Sottocasa Pizzeria – http://sottocasanyc.com
Babbalucci – http://babbalucci.com
Anchor Wine Bar – http://anchorwinebarnyc.com
Bono Trattoria – http://bononyc.com

The Grange Bar & Eatery – http://thegrangebarnyc.com
Hogshead Tavern – http://hogsheadharlem.com
Harlem Public – http://harlempublic.com
Solace Bar and Grill – http://solacebar.com
Loft 142 – http://loft142.com

Angel of Harlem – http://angelofharlemnyc.com
Solomon & Kuff – http://solomonandkuff.com
LoLo’s Seafood Shack – http://lolosseafoodshack.com

The Park 112 – http://thepark112.com

Jado Sushi – http://jadosushi.com
Sushi Inoue – http://sushiinoue.com

Savann – http://nycsavann.com

Jin Ramen – http://jinramen.com
Yuzu – http://yuzunewyork.com
Rai Rai Ken Uptown – http://rairaikenuptown.com

Chaiwali – http://chaiwali.com

Cocktail & Wine Bar:
67 Orange Street – http://67orangestreet.com
L-Lounge – http://harlemllounge.com

Beer Garden:
Bier International – http://bierinternational.com
Bierstrasse NYC – http://bierstrassenyc.com


Faith Hope Consolo, Chairman of Douglas Elliman’s Retail Group, writes the "Faithful Food" column for Total Food Service. Ms. Consolo is a leading retail broker and advisor who covers the national market. She is a specialist ranging from fine restaurants to fashionable fast foods. "To find the best retail space, You Need Faith." Email her at fconsolo@elliman.com